About Us

Michael Rubinger Community Fellowship

LISC is investing in exceptionally talented, diverse leaders with deep ties to their communities and the entrepreneurial spirit needed to innovate at the local level. Qualifying to apply for the Rubinger Fellowship means you have shown a commitment to advancing change in the community development field.

This is the inaugural year of the Rubinger Fellowship, which was created to honor the service of longtime CEO Michael Rubinger. Michael served the organization over the course of four decades. He built LISC into one of the largest organizations in the country supporting projects to lift low-income communities. He was the driving force behind innovative programs, creative financing tools and a comprehensive approach to revitalization that has changed the field of community development. The organization—and hundreds of neighborhoods across the country—are measurably stronger because of his leadership. Through it all, Michael has remained true to LISC’s mission to champion local leadership and ideas, and bring them to the fore.

Rubinger Fellows:

  • Will receive up to $40,000 to pursue a short-term sabbatical or project that is aligned with or will enhance their community development work;
  • Participate in two convenings in NYC;
  • And be featured on LISC’s website and social media.

Important Dates:

  • Application deadline: August 23, 2017
  • Fellowship notification and acceptance: October 27, 2017
  • Public announcement: November 3, 2017
  • Kickoff Event: November 15-16, 2017*
  • Mid-point meeting: May 1, 2018*

*All Fellows must commit to these dates.

For more information, please contact Meggie Lareau.

Support the fellowship


In an interview with Shelterforce, Michael Rubinger shares his experiences at LISC and the field he devoted his life's work to. 

Read More

Leadership support provided by Lisa & Dick Cashin and Robert E. Rubin

With Additional Support From

  • Suzanne Anarde
  • ArtPlace America/Jamie Bennett
  • Elise Balboni
  • Bank of America
  • Geraldine Baum
  • Greg Belinfanti
  • Terry Benelli
  • Better Housing Coalition
  • The Boston Foundation
  • Debbie Burkart
  • Phyllis Caldwell
  • Helene Caloir & Dimitri Tzimas
  • Citi Foundation
  • Coastal Enterprises, Inc. (CEI)
  • Franklin A. Cole
  • Kimberly Cutcher
  • Larry & Marilyn Dale
  • Michelle de la Uz
  • Joan Diver
  • Sally E. Durdan
  • Tom Espinoza
  • Chief Dean Esserman
  • Barbara Fields
  • Pamela P. Flaherty
  • Ford Foundation
  • Lisa & Charles Glover
  • Colvin W. Grannum
  • The Greater Milwaukee Community Foundation
  • Paul S. Grogan
  • Jessica Guilfoy Hart
  • Lisa Hasegawa
  • Micheal Hearne
  • Joe Horiye
  • Marc Jahr
  • Kevin Jordan & Stefan Strein
  • Matt Josephs
  • The Kresge Foundation
  • Lynette Jung Lee
  • Michael Levine
  • Tobin Levy
  • Rhonda Lewis
  • Lily Lo-Klein
  • John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
  • Patrick Maher
  • Richard Manson & Sue Radmer
  • Beth Marcus & Doug Schwarz
  • Kathy Merchant
  • MetLife Foundation
  • Cindy Mims
  • Morgan Stanley
  • Philip D. Murphy
  • Oramenta Newsome
  • Barbara Page
  • Ronald Phillips
  • PNC
  • Preservation of Affordable Housing, Inc. (POAH)
  • The Presidential Grants Fund of the Community Foundation for Northeast Florida
  • Project HOME
  • Tony Proscio
  • Prudential Foundation
  • Rey Ramsey
  • Lata N. Reddy
  • Kimberly Reed
  • Robert E. Rubin
  • Matthew Rubinger
  • Nilda Ruiz
  • Denise Notice Scott
  • David Stanley & Jean Keffeler
  • State Farm
  • Bill & Joanna Taft
  • Laura Tavormina
  • Michael Tierney
  • Ellen Tower
  • Chuck Vliek
  • Nancy & George Walker
  • Anne Zahner