Our Initiatives

Apply to Serve

What you need to know

  • Candidates must be at least 17 years old, US citizens or permanent residents of the United States. Proper documentation will be required. Individuals on a student VISA are not eligible to serve.
  • Candidates should possess a high school diploma or GED. If you do not have either, you will be asked to commit to obtain a GED by the end of your service term.
  • There are restrictions regarding the number of terms a person can serve in national service programs.
  • Criminal history checks are required for all candidates. An individual who is a registered sex offender or has been convicted of┬ámurder cannot serve in any AmeriCorps program.
  • Once selected, full-time and half-time Members are required to attend both a national leadership conference and a local orientation. The leadership conference may require travel and likely result in approximately five to seven days away from home. The local orientation dates are determined by the local LISC office and are communicated at the onset of service.
  • Members will also be expected to participate in national days of service throughout the year.

Benefits of serving

  • All members who successfully complete their term of service are eligible for an education award. The award cannot be redeemed for cash, but only can go towards fees related to education.
  • Full-time members (1,700 hours served during 10 months) earn a living stipend of $15,000 and are eligible for a $5,815 education award at the end of a successful service term. Part-time members (900 hours served during 10 months) earn a living stipend of $8,000 and are eligible for a $2,907.50 at the end of a successful service term.
  • Health and childcare benefits are available to full-time (1,700 hour) members. However dependents are not eligible for health care benefits. Childcare eligibility is determined by state guidelines and set by an external agency.

How do I apply to LISC AmeriCorps?

If you would like to be a member please contact your local LISC office:

Boston
Marizabel Benoit
mbenoit@lisc.org

Chicago
Monita Blunt-Daniel
MBlunt@lisc.org

Detroit
Robyn Hall
rhall@lisc.org

Greater Cincinnati
Alison Taylor
ataylor@lisc.org

Jacksonville
David Pierson
dpierson@lisc.org

Los Angeles
Jessica Wackenhut
jwackenhut@lisc.org

Michigan (Kalamazoo & Flint)
Robyn Hall
rhall@lisc.org

Milwaukee
Bess Earl
bearl@lisc.org

New York Housing Fund
Mark Harris
mharris@lisc.org

Rural LISC
Justin Burch/Katrin Sirje Kark
jburch@lisc.org/kkark@lisc.org

San Antonio
Kia Ball
kball@lisc.org

San Diego
Jason Jarvinen
jjarvinen@lisc.org

Toledo
Robyn Hall
rhall@lisc.org