Our Initiatives

Michael Rubinger Community Fellowship

The Rubinger Community Fellowship invests in exceptionally talented leaders with an entrepreneurial spirit and deep ties to their communities. Each of LISC's 2019 fellows has shown a unique commitment to the community development field.

The fellowship is named in honor of Michael Rubinger, LISC’s former CEO, who pioneered new ways to revitalize communities throughout his 40-year career.

LISC awarded $40,000 to each fellow to support a special project that addresses critical challenges in rural and urban America — from economic development and financial literacy to affordable housing and community engagement. Their overarching goal is to develop innovative solutions that improve the quality of life for people and places, and connect them to the broader economy.

Support the fellowship

2019 Fellows


Rudy Espinoza
Leadership for Urban Renewal Network; Los Angeles, CA

Damon Jiggetts
The Peter Paul Development Center; Richmond, VA

Helen Leung
LA-Mas; Los Angeles, CA

Kelly Orians
Rising Foundations; New Orleans, LA

Ana Natalia Otero
DC SAFE; Washington, D.C.

Lahela Williams
Hawaiian Community Assets; Honolulu, HI

Juanita Woods
NOVA; Monroe, LA

Thomas Wyatt
Kettering University; Flint, MI

Javier E. Zapata-Rodriguez
Pathstone Corporation; Ponce, PR


They come from all corners of the country, and all share a deep commitment to helping their communities thrive. Meet the 2019 class of the Michael Rubinger Community Fellowship. 

Read More
Harnessing Native Hawaiian Knowledge for 21st-Century Challenges: Q&A with Lahela Williams
Read More
Crusading for the Rights of Street Vendors: Q&A with Rudy Espinoza
Read More


Margaret Lareau, Program Manager

Leadership support provided by Lisa & Dick Cashin and Robert E. Rubin

With Additional Support From

  • Suzanne Anarde
  • ArtPlace America/Jamie Bennett
  • Elise Balboni
  • Bank of America
  • Geraldine Baum
  • Greg Belinfanti
  • Terry Benelli
  • Better Housing Coalition
  • The Boston Foundation
  • Debbie Burkart
  • Phyllis Caldwell
  • Helene Caloir & Dimitri Tzimas
  • Citi Foundation
  • Coastal Enterprises, Inc. (CEI)
  • Franklin A. Cole
  • Kimberly Cutcher
  • Larry & Marilyn Dale
  • Michelle de la Uz
  • Joan Diver
  • Sally E. Durdan
  • Tom Espinoza
  • Chief Dean Esserman
  • Barbara Fields
  • Pamela P. Flaherty
  • Ford Foundation
  • Lisa & Charles Glover
  • Colvin W. Grannum
  • The Greater Milwaukee Community Foundation
  • Paul S. Grogan
  • Jessica Guilfoy Hart
  • Lisa Hasegawa
  • Micheal Hearne
  • Joe Horiye
  • Marc Jahr
  • Kevin Jordan & Stefan Strein
  • Matt Josephs
  • The Kresge Foundation
  • Lynette Jung Lee
  • Michael Levine
  • Tobin Levy
  • Rhonda Lewis
  • Lily Lo-Klein
  • John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
  • Patrick Maher
  • Richard Manson & Sue Radmer
  • Beth Marcus & Doug Schwarz
  • Kathy Merchant
  • MetLife Foundation
  • Cindy Mims
  • Morgan Stanley
  • Philip D. Murphy
  • Oramenta Newsome
  • Barbara Page
  • Ronald Phillips
  • PNC
  • Preservation of Affordable Housing, Inc. (POAH)
  • The Presidential Grants Fund of the Community Foundation for Northeast Florida
  • Project HOME
  • Tony Proscio
  • Prudential Foundation
  • Rey Ramsey
  • Lata N. Reddy
  • Kimberly Reed
  • Robert E. Rubin
  • Matthew Rubinger
  • Nilda Ruiz
  • Denise Notice Scott
  • David Stanley & Jean Keffeler
  • State Farm
  • Bill & Joanna Taft
  • Laura Tavormina
  • Michael Tierney
  • Ellen Tower
  • Chuck Vliek
  • Nancy & George Walker
  • Anne Zahner